fbpx

Lockdown interview with Camille Lopato, founder of Diversion cinema

Camille Lopato, Diversion Cinema founder in front of a screenshot of Songbird © The Guardian / Late Love productions | distribution Diversion Cinema
5 May 2020

During the lockdown, NewImages Festival is putting its friends and partners front and centre. Follow and support creators of new images in their private and professional experiences in this pivotal period…

Diversion cinema team

‘Ever since the term “VR” was coined, we haven’t had a moment’s rest! We’re constantly reinventing ourselves, so we’re especially well equipped to bounce back after this!’

Could you tell us a little about Diversion cinema and what you do?

My brother Marc and I launched Diversion cinema [1] four years ago. We’re service providers for festivals and companies that want to create virtual reality spaces and show VR works.

Il yWe had the great pleasure of opening a distribution department two years ago. We promote our immersive products internationally at festivals and sell them at physical locations, at LBE venues and on online platforms.

We’ve also started thinking about different ways of presenting immersive works, in the broad sense of the term. Last year, at NewImages Festival, we met artists who show participatory virtual experiences using unexpected tools–you don’t necessarily need a VR headset and all the technology that goes with it to transport visitors into another world. We found that really interesting. 

The VR saturdays organised in partnership with Diversion cinema at Forum des images | image : grafic design ABM Studio – Visual Collection Christophel except mask © Antoine Doyen and Virtual Virtual Reality © TenderClaws

What has lockdown changed for you in concrete terms?

Ayahuasca, the shamanic exhibition [2] we’d created around Jan Kounen’s Ayahuasca Kosmik Journey (a joint Atlas V/a_Bahn/Small production), launched at the IDFA DocLab [3] in November. It’s supposed to travel to Belgium and Taiwan this year, but in view of the current situation, those events are on hold.

Ayahuasca Kosmik Journey teaser © Atlas V, a_Bahn / Small | distribution Diversion cinema

We’re basically an event-free events-based company! So we all have plenty of time on our hands. We’ve had some stuff on the back burner for a while that we’d never really taken the time to explore, so this is an opportunity to look into them and get them going, and it’s super motivating.

Because we enjoy spending time together, we’re finding that our online meetings are lasting longer! We talk about our lives in lockdown, and they turn into sociable occasions, a moment where we share our experiences and discover things about each other.

Which of the current tools and practices have you found most convincing and inspirational?

We’ve wandered around the VR platforms (the so-called ‘VR social network’) to see what they’re up to and how we could use them, both artistically and from a strictly business perspective. We’ve had some very productive meetings in VRChat [4], Mozilla Hub [5], and Rec Room [6]. They’re playful environments so it’s not easy to stay focused, but when you do, you get some really good exchanges.

Diversion cinema team get-together on social VR platform VRChat

At the moment, festivals are offering some, or all, of their events online, so participants can make the most of what a festival is all about: meeting people, making connections, making things happen. For example, I was supposed to attend the CPH:DOX [7] festival in Copenhagen in mid-March; the physical festival was cancelled but a virtual event was held instead, and it was really enriching. I think that’s amazing: when that kind of virtual meeting is well organised, it energizes the teams and keeps them motivated.

Although we work in the virtual world on a daily basis, it’s great to see how efficient these tools are for organising that kind of get-together. They’re both fun and serious, and conducive to real exchanges. I was really impressed by how well the sound is handled, how the different elements are distributed spatially. There are some really interesting, versatile and fun tools on those platforms that you can use to personalize a space and an interaction, and that might lead to some great immersive and participatory works!

Has lockdown given you any new ideas for future work?

It’s interesting to look at things through the prism of our activity at Diversion cinema, but I think this crisis is affecting us all on the deepest human level. In the coming months, these profound changes are going to redefine the way we work and what we can present to the public. We’re having to think far more deeply (sorry, this is going to sound a bit cheesy) about the meaning of our lives and what we do. Not just ‘Will I wear/stop wearing a headset?’ but, more generally, ‘What do I want to show my viewers?’

Do you think the current situation will take VR further away from real locations?

We’ve all realised how much we miss other people – crowds, even! We just want to get together, to enjoy the feeling of being together, without necessarily having anything to say. It’s so good to see each other, experience things together and share our enthusiasm face-to-face! We’ll always need to get together; I don’t see that changing, for VR or any other audio-visual content.

On the other hand, hygiene will be much more of an issue, and rightly so. At Diversion cinema, we’ve always made sure that every headset user is provided with clean equipment. We’ll need to stress that, and maybe demonstrate the cleaning process to our audiences, to reassure them.

What’s giving you energy and enjoyment in your work at the moment?

As I was saying, Diversion cinema has no upcoming events, so we have every reason to be utterly depressed. Yet we’re working like crazy! Our members are coming up with new ideas and making headway in their living rooms, with their laptops on their knees. They bring new projects to the table and we get things under way. We’re really lucky to have such keen and motivated people in our team!

When we all bid farewell to our office on the last evening and went home with our laptops, headsets and personal knick-knacks, we set ourselves a challenge: okay, we’re going into lockdown, and we don’t know what to expect, but when we come back – whether it’s in two weeks, in a month or in four months – we’ll be different and we’ll have come up with new things.

Time is the most precious commodity. How often in our lives have we found ourselves with so much time? Never! We have to make the very best of it. It’s great to see the team really getting to grips with all this time and putting it to good use!

What do you need, work-wise, to get through this period as effectively as possible?

I could do with a little serenity about the financial aspects. We’ll have to see what happens when the lockdown is lifted: if all the events are cancelled before the next NewImages Festival in late September, it will make things tricky for us.

I tell myself we’ll manage to turn things around, somehow. We’re not the only ones in this situation and I don’t think the authorities will let all the small- and medium-sized businesses in France go broke. I’m sure they’ll find a way to keep us going until our activities resume, in the way they used to do, or in new ways.

Do you have a message for the XR community?

We’re lucky in that we work with constantly evolving technology in the ever-changing VR industry. Ever since the term “VR” was coined, we haven’t had a moment’s rest! We’re constantly reinventing ourselves, so we’re especially well equipped to bounce back after this! From artistic issues to festival sites, we’re always being called upon to think, create, reinvent and challenge ourselves at every level. In this situation, we’re better off than most.

NOTES & HYPERLINKS
[1] Diversion cinema website is available online here
[2] Ayahuasca, the shamanic exhibition website is available online here
[3] the DocLab section of IDFA festival is available online here
[4] VRChat platform is available online here
[5] Mozilla Hubs platform is available online here
[6] Rec Room platform is available online here
[7] CPH:DOX festival is available online here

fbpx

Entretien en confinement : Camille Lopato, fondatrice de Diversion cinema

Camille Lopato fondatrice de Diversion Cinema devant une capture d'écran de Songbird © The Guardian / Late Love productions | distribution Diversion Cinema
5 mai 2020

En ces temps de confinement, NewImages Festival donne la parole à ses amis et partenaires. Pour comprendre et accompagner l’aventure intime et professionnelle de celles et ceux qui façonnent les nouvelles images, et pour traverser ensemble cette période charnière.

L’équipe de Diversion cinema

“Depuis la création du mot VR, il n’y a pas de repos pour nous : nous sommes constamment en train de nous réinventer, donc très bien armés pour rebondir après cet épisode !”

Pouvez vous présenter Diversion cinema et votre activité en quelques mots ?

Nous avons créé Diversion cinema [1] il y a quatre ans avec mon frère, Marc Lopato. Nous nous sommes spécialisés dans la diffusion de programmes VR en tant que prestataires pour des festivals et des sociétés qui veulent créer des espaces de réalité virtuelle et montrer des œuvres VR.

Il y a deux ans, à notre grand bonheur, nous avons ouvert un département de distribution d’œuvres immersives. Nous organisons leur promotion internationale en festivals, et leur commercialisation dans des lieux physiques, en LBE (Location Based Entertainment) et sur les plateformes en ligne.

Nous avons également commencé à réfléchir à d’autres façons de présenter au public des œuvres immersives au sens large. L’année dernière à NewImages Festival, nous avons rencontré des artistes qui présentaient des créations virtuelles participatives avec d’autres outils que les masques. Propulser le visiteur dans un autre monde ne nécessite pas forcément un masque VR et toute la technologie qui s’y rapporte – cela nous a paru très intéressant. 

Les samedis de la VR organisés en partenariat avec Diversion cinema au Forum des images | image : design graphique ABM Studio – Visuel Collection Christophel sauf masque © Antoine Doyen et Virtual Virtual Reality © TenderClaws

Qu’est-ce que le confinement a changé concrètement pour vous ?

L’exposition Ayahuasca, l’exposition chamanique [2] que nous avons créée autour de l’oeuvre Ayahuasca Kosmik Journey de Jan Kounen, (produit par Atlas V, a_Bahn et Small) a été lancée pendant l’IDFA DocLab [3] en novembre dernier. Elle doit être présentée en Belgique et à Taïwan cette année, mais étant donné ce qu’il se passe, certaines dates ont dû être reportées.

bande-annonce de l’œuvre Ayahuasca Kosmik Journey © Atlas V, a_Bahn / Small | distribution Diversion cinema

Nous sommes une société principalement événementielle qui n’a plus d’événements. De fait, ça a dégagé du temps à tout le monde. On avait quelques projets dans le fond de notre panier, dont on ne prenait jamais vraiment le temps de s’occuper. Nous avons maintenant l’opportunité de nous en saisir, de faire avancer les choses et c’est extrêmement motivant.

Nos réunions en ligne sont devenues plus longues, parce que nous avons envie de passer un peu de temps ensemble. On se laisse aller à raconter nos aventures de confinement, ça devient un moment de convivialité qui nous inscrit dans nos vies : on a l’opportunité de découvrir une autre facette des membres de l’équipe. 

Parmi les outils et usages actuels, lesquels vous ont le plus convaincus et donné envie  ?

Nous avons pu nous promener sur les plateformes de réalité virtuelle – la social VR, comme on dit – pour découvrir ce qu’elles font et ce que nous pourrions en faire du point purement business  mais aussi d’un point de vue artistique. Nous avons fait quelques réunions dans VRChat [4], Mozilla Hub [5], Rec Room [6], qui fonctionnent très bien. Ce sont des environnements ludiques, et y rester concentrés n’est pas si simple ! Mais une fois qu’on y arrive, on a une conversation vraiment chouette.

réunion de l’équipe Diversion cinema sur la plateforme de social XR VRChat

En ce moment, les festivals proposent  une partie ou la totalité de leur événement en ligne, pour que chaque intervenant puisse tirer profit de ce pour quoi est fait un festival : rencontrer des gens, trouver des synergies et faire en sorte que les choses avancent. Par exemple, pour le festival CPH:DOX [7] pour lequel  je devais me rendre à Copenhague mi-mars et où finalement la rencontre physique n’a pas eu lieu, une rencontre virtuelle a été organisée, qui nous a  énormément apporté. Je trouve cela  remarquable : bien organisées, ces rencontres virtuelles  permettent de garder l’énergie des équipes, alertes et mobilisées.

Bien que nous travaillions dans le virtuel et que ce soit notre quotidien, il est extrêmement plaisant de voir à quel point les outils sont prêts aujourd’hui pour pouvoir organiser ces collaborations. Il y a à la fois un côté ludique et sérieux, on peut véritablement avoir des échanges. Ce qui m’a vraiment épatée, c’est à quel point le son est bien traité, avec la spatialisation des différents éléments. A l’intérieur même de ces plateformes il y a des outils très intéressants, riches et amusants, qui permettent la personnalisation des espaces et des interactions et qui pourraient faire naître des œuvres d’art participatives et immersives ! 

Le confinement vous inspire de nouvelles pistes de travail ?

Voir les choses à travers le prisme de Diversion cinema et de notre activité est intéressant, mais je pense que cette crise nous touche tous au plus profond de notre humanité. C’est à travers ces transformations lentes et profondes que vont se redéfinir dans les mois qui viennent la façon qu’on a de travailler et ce qu’on peut donner à voir au public. On est appelés à avoir une réflexion beaucoup plus profonde sur – attention, ça va être un peu “cheesy” ce que je vais dire – sur le sens même qu’on peut donner à notre vie et à notre action. Non pas simplement : “Est-ce que je vais mettre un masque / Est ce-que je ne vais plus mettre de masque” mais, de façon générale “Qu’est ce que je veux pouvoir proposer à mes spectateurs ?”

Pensez-vous que le contexte actuel va inscrire la VR de plus en plus loin des espaces physiques  ?

Ce dont on se rend tous compte, c’est à quel point les autres, et même la foule, nous manquent. On a juste envie d’être avec des gens et de se sentir ensemble, même sans rien avoir à se dire. Quel plaisir aussi de se retrouver, de vivre des choses à plusieurs et de partager son enthousiasme de façon directe !  Il y aura toujours cette nécessité d’être ensemble, je ne pense pas que ça va changer, que ce soit pour la VR ou pour d’autres contenus audiovisuels.

En revanche, il va y avoir – et à juste titre – beaucoup plus d’interrogations sur l’hygiène. Chez Diversion cinema, on a toujours fait tous les efforts nécessaires pour que chaque personne qui se sert d’un masque ait un matériel propre. Il  faut accentuer cela, et peut-être même mettre en scène ces gestes que nous faisons, de façon à ce que nos spectateurs soient rassurés.

Qu’est-ce qui vous donne de l’énergie et du plaisir au travail en ce moment ?

Comme je le disais,  Diversion cinema, n’a plus d’événements actuellement, nous avons toutes les raisons du monde pour être complètement déprimés… et ça bosse ! Les membres de l’équipe ont des idées et s’emparent de choses depuis leur salon, avec le laptop sur les genoux.  Ils viennent avec de nouveaux projets et on crée quelque chose. Nous sommes extrêmement chanceux d’avoir de telles personnalités, de telles envies et motivations dans l’équipe.

Quand nous avons quitté le bureau le dernier soir, chacun avec nos ordinateurs portables, nos masques et nos grigris,  et qu’on a dit « au revoir » au bureau, nous nous sommes lancé un défi : nous allons rentrer dans une période de confinement dont nous ne savons pas grand chose, mais quand nous reviendrons, que ce soit dans quinze jours, un mois ou quatre, nous serons différents et nous aurons inventé des choses…

Du temps, c’est la chose la plus précieuse qu’on puisse avoir. Combien de fois dans notre vie on peut avoir ce temps ? Ça n’arrive jamais ! Il faut en prendre absolument le meilleur. Quel plaisir de voir que dans l’équipe on prend vraiment ce temps à bras le corps et qu’on le met à profit !

De quoi avez-vous besoin pour que votre travail se passe au mieux pendant cette période ?

Ce dont j’aurais besoin, c’est d’un peu de sérénité concernant les aspects financiers. Il faut voir comment la fin du confinement se passe : si tous les événements sont annulés jusqu’au nouveau NewImages Festival, fin septembre, ça va devenir compliqué pour nous. 

Je me dis qu’on va réussir à se retourner. Nous ne sommes pas les seuls dans cette situation et je ne crois pas que les pouvoirs publics laisseront mourir toutes les TPE et PME de France à cette occasion. Je suis persuadée qu’ils trouveront de quoi nous faire tenir jusqu’à ce que nos activités reprennent, sous la forme précédente ou sous une nouvelle forme.

Avez-vous un message pour la communauté XR  ?

Nous avons la chance de travailler avec une technologie et dans un monde, l’industrie VR, extrêmement changeants. Depuis la création du mot VR, il n’y a pas de repos pour nous : nous sommes constamment en train de nous réinventer, donc très bien armés pour rebondir après cet épisode ! De l’artistique jusqu’aux lieux qui accueillent des festivals, nous sommes constamment sollicités pour réfléchir, innover, redécouvrir et se lancer des défis à tous niveaux. Dans ce contexte, nous sommes mieux lotis que les autres.

NOTES & HYPERLIENS
[1] le site de Diversion cinema est accessible en ligne ici
[2] le site dédié de l’exposition Ayahuasca, l’exposition chamanique est accessible en ligne ici
[3] la section DocLab du festival IDFA est accessible en ligne ici
[4] la plateforme VRChat est accessible en ligne ici
[5] la plateforme Mozilla Hubs est accessible en ligne ici
[6] la plateforme Rec Room est accessible en ligne ici
[7] le festival CPH:DOX est accessible en ligne ici