facebookinstagramlinkedintwitter

The festival of digital creation and virtual reality
19–23 June 2019

NewImages festival – april 2018 Paris © Forum des images

Our philosophy

Images should not only be watched and analyzed: they should be lived, felt and palpable. Forward-looking and cutting-edge, the NewImages Festival provides a fresh approach to innovative creative techniques.

Focusing on content and artistic creation, NewImages is at the forefront of new trends in media. Building on the transmedia creations of yesterday, and the XR formats of today, tomorrow’s innovation are still beyond our minds’ grasp… NewImages is constantly evolving, transforming from year to year, to adapt to fresh innovations and, above all, new forms of storytelling.

Taking place at Forum des images and several other iconic locations in the heart of Paris, NewImages is, more than ever, a place for discovering new artistic perspectives and finding talent. It is designed to spread new techniques and make new forms of creation accessible, enabling everyone to make them their own. This broad-based and resolutely multifaceted approach to digital creation makes the Festival an unmissable event, with something for everyone.

NewImages festival – april 2018 Paris © Forum des images

What’s new in 2019?

In constant reinvention, The NewImages Festival is back in its summer home. More festive, open and collaborative, and better suited to the needs of industry professionals, the 2019 edition will continue to promote new techniques and look to the future. On the agenda:

  • A selection of the best current immersive and interactive works (XR, video games, innovative storytelling…), numerous premieres, and a brand new VR competition.
  • New for industry professionals: the XR Financing Market, a unique funding market with influential decision makers, designed to encourage the production of innovative content.
  • The NewImages/Kaohsiung Film Festival (KFF) VR Residency: conceived in partnership with one of Taiwan’s leading cultural events and the French office in Taipei, this brand-new initiative will help one French creator get a variety of funding opportunities to develop their project in Kaohsiung. KFF will handle all travel and accommodation arrangements.
  • Industry days for professionals: discover our selection and meet the creators for talks, networking events, cocktails and private events.
  • A celebration of digital creation, with various events, some of them outdoors (performances, free events, “Fête de la Musique”, etc.).
  • Several unique events with renowned artists.
  • A special offer for young people, school groups and students, as well as for educators (introductions, workshops, discussions, etc.).

Produced and organized by Forum des images (a cultural institution subsidized by Paris City Hall), the NewImages Festival was born in January 2018, when the Paris Virtual Film Festival (created in June 2016) and l Love Transmédia (launched in 2011) merged into a single entity.

facebookinstagramlinkedintwitter

Le festival de la création numérique et des mondes virtuels
Du 19 au 23 juin 2019

festival NewImages – Paris avril 2018 © Forum des images

Notre philosophie

Les images ne doivent pas seulement être regardées, décryptées : elles doivent se vivre, se ressentir, se toucher du bout des doigts. Volontairement précurseur, le Festival NewImages se positionne à l’avant-garde des pratiques créatives innovantes, dont il propose une approche inédite.

Toujours sous l’angle des contenus et de la création artistique, le Festival NewImages suit les tendances de près, les devance. Hier le transmédia, aujourd’hui la XR, demain d’autres formats que nous ne soupçonnons pas encore… Il revendique ainsi un ADN en permanente évolution et se transforme d’édition en édition, au gré des innovations et, surtout, des nouvelles formes de narration.

Au Forum des images mais aussi dans plusieurs lieux emblématiques au coeur de Paris, NewImages joue plus que jamais les défricheurs de nouveaux horizons artistiques, les dénicheurs de talents. Il entend par là démocratiser les nouveaux usages, rendre accessibles les nouvelles formes de création et permettre à toutes et à tous de se les approprier. C’est cette approche globale et résolument protéiforme de la création numérique qui lui permet aujourd’hui de s’imposer comme un événement incontournable, répondant aux attentes de tous les publics.

festival NewImages – Paris avril 2018 © Forum des images

Quoi de neuf en 2019 ?

Le Festival NewImages se réinvente à chaque édition et reprend, pour l’occasion, ses quartiers d’été. Plus festif, plus ouvert et collectif, mais aussi plus en accord avec les besoins des acteurs du secteur, le cru 2019 continue d’oeuvrer pour l’évangélisation des nouvelles pratiques et veut voir plus loin. Au programme :

  • une sélection des meilleures oeuvres immersives et interactives du moment (XR, jeux vidéo, nouvelles narrations…), de nombreuses avant-premières et une compétition VR inédite.
  • une grande nouveauté pour les acteurs de l’industrie : le XR Financing Market, un marché de financement unique en présence de decision makers influents pour encourager la production de contenus innovants.
  • la VR Residency NewImages – Kaohsiung Film Festival : une initiative inédite menée avec l’une des plus grandes manifestations culturelles taïwanaises et le Bureau français de Taipei. Cette résidence permettra à un créateur ou une créatrice français.e de bénéficier de nombreuses aides à la production et d’une prise en charge complète pour aller développer son projet à Kaohsiung.
  • pour les professionnels, des journées dédiées : talks, networking, découverte de la sélection et rencontre avec les créateurs, cocktails et soirées pro.
  • une grande fête de la création numérique, avec plusieurs événements, notamment hors les murs (spectacles, animations gratuites, Fête de la Musique).
  • plusieurs rencontres exceptionnelles avec des artistes de renom.
  • une offre spéciale à destination du jeune public, des scolaires et des étudiant.e.s, mais aussi pour les acteurs de l’éducation (initiation, ateliers pratiques, débats).

Produit et organisé par Le Forum des images (institution culturelle subventionnée par la Ville de Paris), le Festival NewImages est en né en janvier 2018 de l’association entre le Paris Virtual Film Festival (juin 2016) et I Love Transmédia (2011).