fbpx

Confinement interview with Louis Cacciuttolo, founder of VRrOOm

14 April 2020

During these times of confinement, let’s give the floor to our friends and partners. To assess life under the current crisis together, but also to try and imagine the formats and tools mutations of “post-Covid-19” new images.

The VRrOOm company, founded by Louis Cacciuttolo, has been by our side since the beginning of the NewImages Festival adventure… How are you living this strange moment in time? What does it change for you, right now and in the long-term?

Louis Cacciuttolo, founder of VRrOOm

“A huge opportunity and at the same time, a threat”

Who are you, what is VRrOOm, and what is your main activity?

I’ve always sought to make the emotion of performing art accessible to the widest possible audience. Those who live in remote areas not everybody has access to spectacles, to theatre, to concerts … with the advent of VR, I figured it was really the ideal tool to bring that to reality.

Our main activity evolved over time. I first created the website VRrOOm.buzz [1] four years ago. At first it was a marketing tool to evangelize and create a communauty around VR, to discuss entertainment, culture, lifestyle and creation.

Progressively, with the evolution of technology, I was able to propose more interesting things. In 2018, in collaboration with the Forum of images, our first partner, we launched the application VRrOOm VR/AR 2 in 1 for the screening of 360° movies and augmented reality content. Since then, twenty or so partner festivals present their program month after month on the platform.

VRrOOm world on VRChat [2], which we just launched is an extension in 6 DoF – 6 degrees of freedom – of this first VRrOOm platform. The 6 DoF – 6 degrees of freedom – allows people to meet, exchange, move around, grab objects etc… what the previous application did not allow for. The Social VR universe VRrOOm on VRChat platform allows people to meet up in a virtual space: to chat, dance, participate in events… at any time of day or night, especially right now. With the Covid-19, there’s around 10 000 people at the same time on the platform, which is really huge for VR!

4 weeks ago, when this confinement period was announced, had you seen this crisis coming?

I saw in early January that there was this crisis in China, a country where I lived for a long time and where I have strong ties to friends and family. I know practically everything that goes on there on a day-to-day basis and so I immediately got informed on the effects that this crisis was already having on Chinese internet users. We immediately saw an explosion of online video gaming, of mobile applications … I told myself that if the pandemic was to get generalized, to get worse, it would certainly have an impact on VR, so I put the work in to be ready in case it would happen.

At first, I planned on launching VRrOOm on the VRChat platform in September 2021, so we speeded things up a bit and it launched! A lot of functionalities still have to be added before September but we still estimated that now was a good time to launch it, precisely to help this captive audience to have entertainment alternatives, to shake things up and breathe a little…

What did confinement changed for you, concretely?

It had an obvious impact on attendance figures: we saw an augmentation of around 20% of traffic in a month. The platform is mostly used by people in Asia and North America and since we know that in North America the confinement only just began…

A lot of discussions are currently taking place to carry festivals on our platforms: a very important European VR festival with which we already had an agreement in principle; NewImages Festival, for at least a part of the program, another Easter European festival is in the process of closing a deal with us… And of course our own festival, Break Down These Walls [3], launched in partnership with Stereopsia [4] in Brussels and Virtual Worlds [5] in Munich. During the entire confinement period, we’re offering 360° films to audiences around the world, to watch with friends and to meet its creators 24/7 on the platform.

For my daily work… VRrOOm never had offices, we’ve always worked remotely with my collaborators, since I created the company. In fact, nothing has changed! I had started to develop the future platform at the end of last year and had already planned to have this amount of work, I just hired an extra person.

Break Down These Walls festival poster

What differentiates VRrOOm on VRChat from current competitors?

A huge number of applications are already organizing B to B virtual conferences for enterprises. They extend the frame of their activity to festivals because they can see all the opportunities that come with all these cancelled events: the need to facilitate meet-ups, meetings, discussions, workshops, conferences…

Our approach is different: we don’t create our own application, but a universe, on a Social VR network, that takes advantage of the traffic generated by this social network, with an audience that is already there. Maybe festivals will have a tailor-made tool, but one that will force the public to download another application that is not a place, a world where people meet up very regularly. This limits the population we reach out to and it bothers me.

Then, there’s the formatting issue. In most existing conference applications, there’s already huge constraints on the design. Basically, we have rather sad-looking rectangular meeting rooms where the only customization possible is to add your logo. There’s a lack of fantasy and of flexibility at the level of event conception, how we re-think it. We have developers and an architect and are offering to create exactly the environment a festival might want. If it wants it in a garden, it’ll take place in a garden, if it wants it on a beach, or in a skyscraper, it’ll be that, there are no limits! That’s a chance for a physical festival forced to project itself in a virtual universe: it can help it re-think and escape all these constraints that are present in the material world… A virtual festival costs a fraction of the price of a physical festival, and can potentially touch many more people.

Has there been VRrOOm on VRChat developments directly linked to the confinement?

The confinement is a tragedy when we think of the dead and a financial catastrophe for a lot of people. But the situation also pushes us to be more creative, to analyze the needs of people that need to take their minds off things and to tame new tools. We learn a lot – first off, to teach people how to use these tools, and most importantly what they expect from them – it is not necessarily what we would’ve thought of at the start.

For example, 4 weeks ago, we did workshops with the Venice Biennale [6] in private mode because they knew that the platform was practically ready. Venice was just put under quarantine and overnight they asked me if it was possible to host these workshops on the platform – that’s what we did. They were very serious workshops where people talked of film projects in VR, there was a jury, a whole group of people that were evaluating the quality of these projects. They worked on it for four days, at least eight hours a day on the platform- it was really a record number of people wearing VR headsets or that were on PC. What was very surprising is that in the environment redesigned for the Biennale, we had attributed fairly realist avatars to people. But actually, the first thing they did was swap them for completely wacky avatars! It absolutely did not bother anyone to talk to a banana or a football! We realize that if we give people certain possibilities that they precisely don’t have on these platforms that offer rather serious things, they sometimes prefer completely unexpected stuff…

vrroom session zeroevent
VRrOOm on VRChat

What would you need right now for your work to go smoother during this confinement?

I need more visibility, precisely, and so I’m happy to be doing this interview! It’s important to talk about us, we’re still lacking visibility with the general public.

Do you have a message for the XR community?

The situation we’re all currently living through is a huge opportunity and at the same time, a threat. We must address everybody, the audience, and to facilitate as much as possible accessibility to VR. We have a big responsibility, whether it be in terms of pitched content or in terms of its availability. VR is a tool: even without a VR headset, there must be ways to access it by phone and PC, as to not limit ourselves and give the widest possible audience the opportunity to discover this technology. And why not, eventually to create vocations, talents and other fields of creative exploration.

NOTES & HYPERLINKS
[1] the VRrOOm.buzz platform is available online here
[2] the VRChat platform is available online here
[3] the Break Down These Walls festival is available online here
[4] the Stereopsia festival is available online here
[5] the Virtual Worlds festival is available online here
[6] the Biennale de Venise festival is available online here

fbpx

Entretien en confinement : Louis Cacciuttolo, fondateur de VRrOOm

14 avril 2020

En ces temps de confinement, la parole est à nos amis et partenaires. Pour sonder ensemble le vécu de la crise actuelle, mais aussi pour tenter d’imaginer les mutations des formats et outils des nouvelles images de « l’après COVID-19 ».

La société VRrOOm, fondée par Louis Cacciuttolo, nous accompagne depuis les débuts de l’aventure du festival NewImages… Comment vivez-vous ce drôle de moment ? Qu’est-ce que ça change pour vous, dans l’immédiat et à plus long terme ?

Louis Cacciuttolo, fondateur de VRrOOm

« Une énorme opportunité en même temps qu’un danger »

Qui êtes-vous, VRrOOm, et quelle est votre activité principale ?

J’ai toujours cherché à rendre l’émotion du spectacle vivant accessible au plus grand nombre. Quand on vit dans des endroits reculés, tout le monde n’a pas accès à des spectacles, au théâtre, à des concerts… Avec l’arrivée de la VR, je me suis dit que c’était vraiment l’outil idéal pour réaliser ça.

Notre activité principale a évolué au fil du temps. J’ai d’abord créé le site VRrOOm.buzz [1], il y a 4 ans. Au départ c’était un outil marketing pour évangéliser et créer une communauté autour de la VR, en parlant divertissement, culture, life-style et création.

Au fur à mesure de l’évolution de la technologie, j’ai pu proposer des choses plus intéressantes. En 2018, en collaboration avec le Forum des images, notre premier partenaire, on a lancé l’application VRrOOm VR/AR 2 en 1 pour la programmation de films en 360° et de contenus en réalité augmentée. Depuis, une vingtaine de festivals partenaires présentent leur programme mois après mois sur la plateforme.

Le monde VRrOOm que nous venons de lancer sur VRChat [2] est une extension en 6 DoF – 6 degrés de liberté – de cette première plateforme VRrOOm. Le 6 DoF – 6 degrés de liberté – permet de se rencontrer, d’échanger, de se déplacer, de saisir des objets – choses que la précédente application ne permettait pas. L’univers en social VR de VRrOOm sur VRChat permet aux gens de se rencontrer dans un espace virtuel : de discuter, de danser, de participer à des événements… À n’importe quelle heure du jour de la nuit, particulièrement en cette période avec le COVID-19, il y a environ 10 000 personnes en même temps sur la plateforme, ce qui, pour de la VR, est vraiment énorme !

Il y a 4 semaines, à l’annonce de la période de confinement en France, est-ce que vous aviez vu venir cette crise ?

Début janvier, j’ai vu qu’il y avait cette crise en Chine, un pays où j’ai vécu très longtemps et où j’ai des liens forts, des amis et de la famille. Je sais pratiquement ce qu’il s’y passe au jour le jour, très exactement, donc je me suis tout de suite informé sur les effets que la crise avait déjà eu sur les internautes chinois. On a vu une explosion des usages de jeux vidéo en ligne, des applications mobiles… Je me suis dit que si la pandémie se généralisait et s’aggravait, ça aurait forcément un impact sur la VR, donc j’ai mis les bouchées doubles pour être prêt au cas où ça arrive.

Au départ, je comptais lancer VRrOOm sur VRChat en septembre 2021, donc on a un peu accéléré les choses, elle est lancée ! Pas mal de fonctionnalités doivent encore être ajoutées d’ici septembre, mais on a estimé que c’était quand même un bon moment pour la lancer, justement pour pouvoir aider ce public captif à avoir d’autres alternatives de divertissement, pour se changer les idées et respirer un peu…

Qu’est-ce que le confinement a changé concrètement pour vous ?

Ça a eu un impact évident sur les chiffres de fréquentation : on a vu une augmentation d’environ 20 % du trafic en un mois. La plateforme est utilisée en majorité par des gens d’Asie et d’Amérique du Nord, et comme en Amérique du Nord on sait que le confinement vient juste de débuter…

Beaucoup de discussions sont actuellement en cours pour porter des festivals sur notre plateforme : un festival VR européen très important avec qui on a déjà un accord de principe; NewImages Festival, pour au moins une partie de la programmation; un autre festival d’Europe de l’Est en train de finaliser avec nous… Sans compter notre propre festival, Break Down These Walls [3], lancé en partenariat avec Stereopsia [4] à Bruxelles et Virtual Worlds [5] à Munich. Pendant toute la période du confinement, nous proposons au public du monde entier de voir un film en 360°, avec ses amis et de rencontrer les créateurs du film 24h/24 sur la plateforme.

Pour mon travail au quotidien… VRrOOm n’a jamais eu de bureaux, on a toujours travaillé à distance avec mes collaborateurs depuis que j’ai créé la société. En fait, ça n’a rien changé ! J’avais commencé à développer la future plateforme la fin de l’année dernière et j’avais déjà prévu d’avoir cette quantité de travail, je viens juste d’employer une personne de plus.

affiche du festival Break Down These Walls

Qu’est-ce qui différencie VRrOOm sur VRChat des concurrents actuels ?

Énormément d’applications organisent déjà des conférences virtuelles B to B pour les entreprises. Elles étendent le cadre de leur activité à des festivals parce qu’elles voient bien toutes les opportunités qu’il y a avec tous ces événements annulés : le besoin de faciliter des rencontres, des meetings, des discussions, ateliers, conférences…

Notre approche est différente : nous ne créons pas notre propre application, mais un univers sur un réseau de Social VR, qui profite du trafic généré par ce réseau social, avec un public qui est déjà là. Les festivals vont peut-être avoir un outil sur mesure, mais qui va contraindre le public à télécharger une autre application qui n’est pas un lieu, un monde où les gens se rencontrent très régulièrement. C’est une limitation au niveau de la population à qui on s’adresse qui me gêne.

Il y a ensuite un problème de format. Dans la plupart des applications de conférences existantes, il y a d’énormes contraintes de design. En gros, on a des salles de meeting rectangulaires assez tristes, où la seule customisation possible est de mettre son logo. Il y a un manque de fantaisie et de flexibilité au niveau de comment on conçoit son événement, comment on le repense. Nous avons des développeurs et un architecte et proposons de créer exactement l’environnement dont un festival a envie. S’il veut que ça se passe dans un jardin, ça va se passer dans un jardin, s’il veut que ça soit sur une plage, ou dans un gratte-ciel, ce sera ça, il y a zéro limite ! C’est une chance pour un festival physique d’être contraint de se projeter dans un univers virtuel : ça peut l’aider à repenser et à échapper à toutes les contraintes qu’il a dans le monde matériel… Un festival virtuel, c’est une fraction du prix du festival physique, et on peut potentiellement toucher beaucoup plus de gens.

l’interface de création d’avatars sur VRChat

Il y a t’il eu des développements de VRrOOm sur VRChat liés directement au confinement ?

Le confinement est un drame quand on pense aux morts et une catastrophe financière pour beaucoup de monde. Mais la situation nous pousse aussi à être plus créatifs, à analyser les besoins de gens qui ont besoin de se changer les idées et qui apprivoisent des nouveaux outils. On apprend énormément – déjà à apprendre aux gens à se servir de ces outils, et surtout ce qu’ils en attendent – ce n’est pas forcément ce qu’on aurait pensé au départ…

Par exemple, il y a 4 semaines, on a fait des ateliers avec la Biennale de Venise [6], en mode privé parce qu’ils savaient que la plateforme était pratiquement prête. Venise venait d’être mise en quarantaine et du jour au lendemain ils m’ont demandé si c’était possible d’héberger ces ateliers sur la plateforme – ce qu’on a fait. C’étaient des ateliers très sérieux où on parlait de projets de films en VR, il y avait un jury, tout un groupe de gens qui évaluent la qualité de ces projets. Ils ont travaillé pendant quatre jours, minimum huit heures par jour sur la plateforme – c’est vraiment un record pour des gens qui portent un casque de VR ou qui sont sur PC. Ce qui a été très surprenant c’est que dans l’environnement redessiné pour la Biennale, on avait attribué aux gens des avatars plutôt réalistes, humains. En fait, la première chose qu’ils ont fait c’était de changer pour des avatars complètement délirants ! Ça n’a gêné absolument personne de parler à une banane ou à un ballon de foot ! On s’aperçoit que si on donne aux gens certaines possibilités, qu’ils n’ont pas justement sur ces plateformes qui proposent des choses assez sérieuses, ils préfèrent parfois des choses complètement inattendues…

vrroom session zeroevent
VRrOOm sur VRChat

De quoi auriez-vous besoin dans l’immédiat pour que votre travail se passe au mieux pendant ce confinement ?

J’ai besoin de plus de visibilité, justement, et donc je suis content de faire cette interview ! C’est important de parler de nous, on manque encore de visibilité auprès du grand public.

Avez-vous un message pour la communauté XR ?

La situation que nous vivons tous actuellement est une énorme opportunité en même temps qu’un danger. Il faut qu’on s’adresse à tout le monde, au public, et qu’on facilite au maximum l’accessibilité à la VR. Nous avons une grosse responsabilité, que ce soit en termes de contenus proposés qu’en termes de mise à disposition. La VR est un outil : même sans disposer d’un casque VR, il faut des moyens d’y accéder par portable et PC, pour ne pas se limiter et donner au plus grand nombre l’opportunité de découvrir cette technologie. Et, pourquoi pas, d’éventuellement créer des vocations, des talents, et d’autres champs d’exploration créatifs.

NOTES & HYPERLIENS
[1] la plateforme VRrOOm.buzz est accessible en ligne ici
[2] la plateforme VRChat est accessible en ligne ici
[3] le festival Break down these walls est accessible en ligne ici
[4] le festival Stereopsia est accessible en ligne ici
[5] le festival Virtual Worlds est accessible en ligne ici
[6] le festival la Biennale de Venise est accessible en ligne ici