fbpx

NewImages Festival @ SXSW 2020

18 February 2020

NewImages festival will be part of the next edition of SXSW happening every year in March in Austin, Texas.

How do festivals launch new collaborations in support of XR creation? How to encourage and support for VR/XR creators and foster creative and innovative international coproductions?

These questions will be part of the discussion “Europe-Asie-Afrique : la XR sans frontières”. Around Grace Lee (Kaohsiung Film Festival VR), Tegan Bristow (Fak’ugesi African Digital Innovation Festival) and Michaël Swierczynski (NewImages Festival), this panel initiated by NewImages Festival will offer a case study on existing residencies and collaborations between these three events.

Through labs, incubators or workshops, festivals commit to supporting artists. Beyond their role as curators, many assist artists and their projects over the long term by providing an environment that fosters creation. For over a year now, Paris’ NewImages Festival has been expanding their range of options in Europe, Asia and Africa by partnering with festivals such as Taiwan’s Kaohsiung Film Festival and South Africa’s Fak’ugesi Festival to launch residencies abroad, among other programs. It not only hopes to encourage creation, co-productions and the emergence of a new generation of artists, but also help them gain greater recognition at international festivals through participation in these residencies.

The lack of outreach and access to immersive works is still a major obstacle to their democratisation. This case study of new partnerships in Europe, Asia and Africa ambitions to highlight inter-event initiatives that foster international exchanges and the circulation of artists and their works.

The panel will take place on March 16th at 9:30 AM at the JW Marriott as one of SXSW 2020 events

fbpx

NewImages Festival @ SXSW 2020

18 février 2020

NewImages Festival sera présent à la prochaine édition de SXSW qui se tiendra comme chaque année au mois de Mars à Austin, Texas.

Comment les festivals initient de nouvelles collaborations pour se mettre au service de la création XR ? Comment soutenir les créateurs VR/XR et favoriser les coproductions créatives, innovantes et internationales ?

C’est à ces questions que tentera de répondre le panel “Europe-Asie-Afrique : la XR sans frontières”. Autour de Grace Lee (Kaohsiung Film Festival VR), Tegan Bristow (Fak’ugesi African Digital Innovation Festival) et Michaël Swierczynski (NewImages Festival), cette rencontre initiée par NewImages Festival proposera une étude de cas et reviendra sur les résidences de création et différentes collaborations mises en place entre les trois événements.

Labos, incubateurs ou ateliers… les festivals ont à cœur de s’engager dans l’accompagnement des artistes. En plus de leur travail de programmation, leur soutien aux créateurs et à leur projet sur le long terme offre un environnement nécessaire à la création. Depuis plus d’un an maintenant, NewImages Festival à Paris multiplie les opportunités en Europe, en Asie et en Afrique en collaborant avec d’autres festivals tels que le Kaohsiung Film Festival et Fak’ugesi Festival afin de lancer des résidences à l’étranger, entre autres programmes. En plus d’encourager la création, les coproductions et l’émergence d’une nouvelle génération d’artistes, ces initiatives ont pour but assumé d’offrir une plus grande reconnaissance pour les artistes auprès de festivals au travers de la mise en place de résidences et d’échanges.

La difficulté d’accès et le manque de rayonnement des œuvres immersives aujourd’hui restent les obstacles majeurs à leur démocratisation. Cette étude des partenariats entre l’Europe, l’Asie et l’Afrique mettra à l’honneur les initiatives inter-événementielles qui encouragent les échanges internationaux et la diffusion des œuvres et de leur créateur. 

La rencontre aura lieu le 16 Mars 9h30 au JW Marriott dans le cadre de SXSW 2020